I Didn’t Know I Had That In Me

I have never pushed myself that way before. At the first sign of discomfort my first thought was always to quit. How many moments have I thrown away, the moments that could have been used to show me what I was capable of? Time after time, after every defeat, I felt I wasn’t good enough-or that I would never be able to reach those goals. My mind raced with so many thoughts, my heart filled with so many emotions… but not yesterday. Of this, I am proud. -…Heart Of Grace

Yesterday, a day of which I have never been more proud of myself. It started so slowly. I woke up late, I felt tired. Due to the early morning trip to the ER. I had no energy to do anything. All my body was telling me to do was sleep. I couldn’t. I remembered a responsibility I had. I made a promise to myself that I would stick with my daily workouts, which pushed me to get moving. Everything within me did not want to, but my mind kept telling me, “you will be feel so much better after.” It was right. I started off with laps around my backyard. I walk in my backyard, because I don’t like being seen when I work out. I think that’s why I have avoided gyms. (I have no idea why I am like that.) I walked for an hour. During my walk my foot began to hurt. I heard a voice telling me to stop, that it was a good reason to just “rest.” I simply kept going, eventually the pain went away.

“Opposition will always come your way, when you’re about to reach a breaking point in your life that will be a blessing to you, but greater is He who is in you, than he who is in the world.”…Heart Of Grace

Then it came time to fulfill my duty. It was Cardio day. It happens to be my favorite, but not so much when I’m trying to get the momentum going. A part of me wanted to skip it, after all I already had walked for an hour. “Nope,” my mind told me. So I pushed through and started my workout. I jogged around in my garage, I rode on my stationary bike, I did that for what I thought was thirty minutes. With my heart racing and sweat running down the side of my face, all I could think about was, “I have finished.”

I looked at my Fitbit, and realized I had reached my daily step goal of eight-thousand steps, ninety minutes of movement, and so on. As I went to sync my Fitbit I realized something amazing. I surpassed my thirty minute Cardio workout by two minutes. It might not be a big deal to some, but to me it was! I was ecstatic. I still had plenty of day light left, and so much more to do. By the end of the day I had reach, yet another goal. I had finally reached; ten-thousand steps- equivalent to four miles.

18010731_183114755542101_7044325537914540090_n17990345_183114782208765_9043030941477909362_o17917278_183114798875430_8015861440490766416_o

 

 

 

 

 

I honestly, didn’t know I had that in me. This is my all-time best.  I didn’t know I was capable of such victory when it came to fitness. Never have I been the one who loved working out. Shoot, in school I hated P.E. Yup, I was that over-weight girl. Yesterday, proved to me that I am no longer that girl. I am now a grown woman who desires to have a healthier life-style and desires to be in better shape…not for anybody else, but for me. I realized yesterday that I can go beyond that what I think I can. That I am stronger than what I feel, that I don’t have to bow down to the first sign of discomfort. At the end of the day, I ended at just a little over eleven-thousand steps.

God says I am an overcomer and that the victory is already mine. I believe him, yesterday it was proven.